Mthabisi Tshuma, Showbiz Correspondent

THE stage is set for the ZimStars Awards which are taking place this afternoon at The Vista bar and restaurant in Bulawayo.

Artistes from different parts of the country are set to battle it out for gongs in different categories at the red carpet event.

Welcoming guests on the red carpet will be female personalities, Khekhe and Spanchy as a way of embracing the 16 days of activism against GBV.

Entertainment will be provided by Mzoe 7 known for his Maradona phrase, teen dancehall songstress Mandy Mae, Real Shona, Bhekiwe and The Dawg among others.

This year’s nominees list is quite refreshing as it is filled with new faces, from musicians, actors, dancers, producers to online television stations. Not only does it have new names, it is balanced as outstanding artistes from all corners of the country have been included.

In the music category, notable nominees are Jah Master, Asaph, Poptain, Allanah, Van Choga, Vuyo Brown, Tebza, Sikhosana, Mzoe 7 and Novuyo Seagirl and rapper Boy Nino.

Fast-growing online television stations that include newly licensed ZTN, Onvi and Nash TV are also nominated.

Founder of the prestigious awards, Tinashe Mandlokuwa, a 19-year-old teen from Gweru said the event will be shown virtually at a later date as they want to package it well.

“Everything is in place for tonight’s event. The virtual show however, is expected to be shown on our social media pages and those of our partners in the coming weeks as we want to give viewers a wellorchestrated show.”

Below is the full list of nominees:

Music and poetry category

Outstanding Musician


Nutty O


Sha Sha

Van Choga

Outstanding Album/ Body of Work:

Bryan K — Bibo Worldwide

Buffalo Souljah — Unity Album

Hillzy — Chisikana

Takura — Star Signs

Rymez — Pungwe Sessions

Song of The Year:

Jah Master — Hello Mwari

Anallah & Poptain — Fadza Mutengi

Asaph — Aspheli Moya

Nutty O — Safe

Holy Ten — Ndaremerwa

Outstanding Music Video

Mzoe 7 — Asambeni

Boy Nino ft Kyla Blac — Wave

Takura — Mufaro

Nox — My Melody

Valee Music & Charlie Kay — Sondela

Outstanding Poet

Shaznay Wood

Tinashe Tafirenyika

The Unspoken

Kuda Rice

Shall do

Best Choreography

John Cole

Airborne Masangomai

Noni Madzinga


Best Diaspora Artist

Kazz Khalif

Tina Masawi

Donel Mangena

Lamont Chitepo

Brian Bhora

Best Music Producer

Akay King

Rodney Beatz


Murphy Cubic


Best Newcomer

M-killer the gorilla

Anita Jackson



Boy Nino

Kyla Black

Best Music Video Director

Director Dave


Charles Mugamiri jr

Andy Cutta


Zororai Chibuwe

People’s Choice

Van Choga

Skhosana Buhlungu


Jah Master

Best Collaboration

Fadza Mutengi — Poptain ft Allanah

Ginde — Crooger ft Asaph and TiGonzi

Unonzani —Jah Master ft Anita Jackson

Bad Vibes — Crisswiss ft The Dot, Lee Mchoney

Sondela — Valee Music & Charlie Kay

Film and Television categories

Best Actor

Tinodaishe Chitima on Shaina The Movie

Everson K Chieza on Wadiwa Wepamoyo

Farai Chigudo

Tendai Huni

Best Actress

Wilmah Munemera on Shaina The Movie

Tendaiishe Chitima on Cookoff

Tadiwa Kimberly Bopoto on Wadiwa Wepamoyo

Zihlo Ndlovu

Outstanding Film Director & Producer

Derby Beta (Director)

Zeauty Masvaure (Director)

Simbarashe Masango (Producer)

Joe Njagu (Director)

Outstanding Full Length Film

Shaina: Beauty Masvaure

Gonarezhou: Sydney Taivavashe

Chinhoyi 7: Moses Matanda

Cook Off: Tomas Brickhill

Outstanding Short Film

Amanxeba (Scars) — Tinashe Gijima

Things We Do For Love —College Central

Fatima — Igi Matope

Best TV Series — Indlalifa – J Sibanda

Wadiwa Wepamoyo — Derby Beta

Isipho Sami — Thembelihle Moyo

Pink and Purple — Onvi Tv

Art, Fashion and Kulcha categories

Best Female Model

Natasha Gora

Rossina (Zina)

Yolanda Cream

Best Male Model

Ben Chest

Lancelot Ndlovu

Chikomborero Tyrone Siwawa

Jimmy Mhlanga

Best Fashion Designer

Benjamin Chiyangwa

Ric Chasers

Joan Nyambe

PVO threads — Claybirds

Best Socialite

Lorraine Guyo

Dj Towers

Moana Amuli


Outstanding Presenter

Paulla Paloma

Donna Ncube

Yahya Good Vibes


Simba Mudereri (Massive Mandebvu)

Outstanding Graphics Design

Sticky zw

Panashe Shumbayawonda

Life of Tiddy

Mwale Arts

Best Social Media based category

Outstanding Young Entrepreneurs

Ray Vines —Mukukuzvi

Kuda Manase — Four Promotion

Ric Chasers — Chasers Clothing

Tatenda Samukange — Skylake Borehole Drilling

Outstanding Comedian/ Viner

Long John

Tsoanelo Moyo

Ruvarashe Hapaguti Mamii

Zimbo Spirited

Outstanding Online Media Group

Onvi tv


Ingoda Tv

Zimcitizen news

Best Online Broadcaster


Nash TV

Bus Stop TV

Ngoda TV

Outstanding Musician per genre category



Jah Master


Van Choga



Pro beatz

Lee Mchoney

Natasha Muz




Jazz Prosper


K Cool


Vuyo Brown


Bryan K



Novuyo Seagirl

Majoer Prodi

Mzoe 7