Daniel Itai – The Zimbabwe Daily

Pretoria, South Africa – Cricket South Africa (CSA) will try a new format of cricket that will see three teams competing in a single 36 over match.

Captains AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock and Kagiso Rabada will lead teams of eight players who will bat for a total of 12 overs, six per innings, during which time they will face both opponents in the field.

At the fall of the seventh wicket, the last remaining batsman can carry on, but only score in even numbers, twos, four or a six. The team with the highest aggregate total at the end of the game will be declared the winner.

 “It’s been quite some time since the South African public and fans of cricket worldwide have been able to consume the game we all love.

- Advertisement -

I know that the players are itching to get back into action as well. It’s a thrilling new format and a match that is working towards a greater good,” said Graeme Smith, CSA director.

The inaugural match will take place on the 27th of this month at the Supersport Park in Centurion, Pretoria. It will be played in an empty stadium.